Plan B from MST3K

I was going to title this post “Planet 9 From Outer Space” but these smart bastards beat me to it! They also stole the subject that I was going to write about… and presented more facts and graphics and overall explanation than I would, so I have since scratched the first idea. Curse you SciShow! But seriously, I love those guys. They are not my favorite science-y folks though, and I think I know why. They are accurate. I love them for that, and I preach scientific accuracy all the time, but I also revere the fun, fictional element of science, especially space science as I’ve demonstrated in my kind words for Star Wars, Star Trek, and other various movies, shows, and books that involve stars. One such is the greatest show of all time. Not just the greatest show that occurs in space, they greatest show that ever occurred. I speak, of course, of the one and only Mystery Science Theater 3000.

In case you haven’t seen Mystery Science Theater 3000, or MST3K as it is often abbreviated, then you are in luck. If you are a devoted MSTie and have seen every episode multiple times, then you are in luck. There is so much offered in each and every episode that you can watch the same one 20 times and still pick up on new jokes and references as you catch them in the shuffle or return after having expanded your own pop culture knowledge. The basic premise of the show is easy to pick up and remember as it is explained in the theme song. Essentially, a man living on a satellite he’s been placed on against his will is forced to watch the worst B-movies of all time by his cruel captors who put him there to torment him for experimentation. The only way he can keep from going completely crazy is to humorously riff the movies with his robot buddies Tom Servo and Crow T. Robot who are completely crazy. Don’t worry about the why as much as the what’s happening before you and you should be laughing at instead of immersing your mind in ponderous concerns. They mention that in the theme song too.

In honor of MST3K and the potential discovery of a new planet or at least a similar enough celestial body, I have included on of the best episodes from the show, Space Mutiny featuring a hero of many names. Enjoy!

And if you feel so inclined to see what the guys are up to nowadays, check out their site that currently is operating as homebase for their kickstarter effort to return to the screen!

As always, send any comments or questions to monotrememadness@gmail.com and have yourself a wonderful day.

Keep circulating the tapes,

Alex

 

One thought on “Plan B from MST3K”

Leave a Reply

